Thursday, March 23, 2017

Sam Padrul & Megan Vice - Waves Break

Chicago's own self-proclaimed "keyboard masher extraordinaire" Sam Padrul has already greatly impressed us with his previous offerings such as "Got My Love" (feat. Lyon Hart), "Hold On Me" (feat. Mammals) and "Dirty Work" (feat. Patrick Baker) but today he returns to do it all again with his latest tune called "Waves Break", which this time sees him enlisting the vocal talents of Brooklyn-based glam-pop diva Megan Vice, whose sophomore EP, Spread The News, released last year, is still on heavy rotation here at WS headquarters. Written and produced by the pair themselves in collaboration with Robert Perlick-Molinari (of French Horn Rebellion), "Waves Break" is easily one the most upbeat, summery and infectious dance-pop gems we've heard so far this year.

Premiere via Cloudberry Mornings.

ALMA - Chasing Highs

21-year old Finnish vocal powerhouse Alma-Sofia Miettinen, aka ALMA has today unveiled her upbeat and tropical-tinged pop banger called "Chasing Highs", her first new material since last year's release of her debut EP, Dye My Hair, which has so far generated over 100 million combined Spotify streams. "Chasing Highs" is a one-two punch of spunky production and sassy lyrics, culminating on an unshakable hook. It's just a hint of what's to come as ALMA remains hard at work on her international full-length debut which she is currently in the studio working on alongside heavy hitters such as MNEK, Charli XCX, Rudimental, Two Inch Punch, Gorgon City, and Sub Focus, just to name a few.

Listen to "Chasing Highs" below.

"Chasing Highs" is available now on iTunes.

DYLYN - Secret

Toronto-based chanteuse Gwendolyn Lewis, aka DYLYN returns today with her new single called "Secret", a revealing pop gem which once again see her collaborating with producer Colin Munroe (Sky Ferreira, Drake, Kendrick Lamar) and also serves as the second track following "Mimosa" to be lifted from her forthcoming album, which is due out later this year.

Speaking on the track, DYLYN says:

"This one is personal. My life was turned upside down and as a result this song emerged. 'Secret' became therapeutic, it helped me deal with this crazy thing that happens to so many people, yet often remains a taboo subject; especially in song. 'Secret' gave me a chance to connect with people, with my fans whose parents also split up due to infidelity; it became a way of reaffirming for myself and others: 'You are not the only one going through this.' Like I said, this one is personal."

Listen to "Secret" below.

Premiere via Popdust.

Only Girl - Fortune

Following last year's release of her critically acclaimed Young Blood EP, South London-based singer/songwriter Ellen Murphy, aka Only Girl now returns with her brand new single called "Fortune", along with accompanying B-side "Water" via her own label, So Gold Music. Combining her uniquely stirring, soulful vocals with an ethereal R&B backdrop and a celestial gospel-infused choir of harmonies, both "Fortune" and "Water" were recorded at Abbey Road Studios and co-written and produced with emerging UK producer Lostboy.

Speaking about a-side track "Fortune", Only Girl says:

"'Fortune' is a song about the value we place in our relationships. When we build up our emotional fortune with someone, it's so easy to take them for granted and forget what you have, until something happens to make you realise how much you have to lose: 'I built my fortune up on you, I didn't know I had so much to lose - so let me treasure you.' I've learnt this the hard way, so this song holds a really important message to me about really cherishing what you have with someone."

Listen to both "Fortune" and "Water" below.

"Fortune" is available now on iTunes.

Premiere via The Line of Best Fit.

Abi Hudson - Warm In The Room

After having first come to our attention late last year with her debut single, "Fragile Around You", 18-year-old London-based singer/songwriter Abi Hudson now returns today with her follow-up single called "Warm In The Room", a breathtaking piano-led pop ballad which was co-written and produced by Steve Anderson and Terry Ronald, who have previously collaborated with pop icons such as Kylie Minogue and Britney Spears.

Speaking on the track, Abi says:

"'Warm in the Room' is a really special song for me, I love its simplicity. It really allows you to focus in on the lyrics and story. In short the song is about loss. I've never really told anyone explicitly what it's about because I want people to take their own meaning from it, but if you've ever experienced loss, be that losing a loved one, breaking up with someone or whatever it may be, I think and hope this track will make a lot of sense to you."

Listen to "Warm In The Room" below and stay tuned for more new music from Abi Hudson as she is currently preparing for the release of her debut EP, due out later this year.

Premiere via PopCrush.