Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Overcoats - Hold Me Close

New York-based duo Overcoats, comprised of best friends and former college roommates Hana Elion and JJ Mitchell, have today unveiled their new single called "Hold Me Close", which also serves as the lead single to be lifted from their forthcoming debut album, YOUNG, due out on April 21st via Arts and Crafts. Written by Overcoats themselves and co-produced by Nicolas Vernhes (Daughter, The War On Drugs and Dirty Projectors) and experimental R&B artist Autre Ne Veut, with additional production from Myles Avery and mixing by Ben Baptie (Låpsley, Lianne La Havas and Mark Ronson), the 12-song album tells a story about growing up, told through the lens of two women.

"'Hold Me Close' is a song about finding solace in the present when the future and past seem impossible to understand, JJ tells Wonderland Magazine. Hana adds: "It’s about the loneliness and disillusionment that we can feel in relationships, and how we must persevere anyway in hopes of finding the beauty in love."

Listen to "Hold Me Close "below.

YOUNG Tracklisting:
1. Father
2. Smaller Than My Mother
3. 23
4. Leave The Light On
5. Hold Me Close
6. The Fog
7. Walk On
8. Little Memory
9. Siren
10. Nighttime Hunger
11. Kai's Song
12. Mother

Pre-order YOUNG on digital, CD or vinyl here.

Premiere via NPR's All Songs Considered.

No comments:

Post a Comment